Slight Efficiencies

Small things make a difference.  Keep in mind that I came from a command-line, pre-mouse, era.  I loved working in command shells and not using mice and I kind of resent certain aspects of mice being forced upon me.  But that’s the way things are these days and mice are pretty much unavoidable.

However, there are still things we can do at the command line to make things a little easier.  If you don’t know about the keyboard shortcuts to do copy/cut/paste, I don’t know that I can help you.

So here’s one way to improve your life slightly:

  • Click Start
  • Click All Programs
  • Click Microsoft Office
  • Right Click on Access and select Properties.
  • There you’ll see a field called Shortcut Key.  Make it active.  Hold down the Control key and hit A.  Click OK.  The key combination Ctrl-Alt-A will now open Access.  I use W for Word, X for Excel, and T for TextPad.  When I worked in more of a support role, I used P for PowerPoint.

I do this on every Windows computer that I use regularly.  It’s a small thing, but it’s another way that I can avoid taking my hands off the keyboard and stay away from the mouse.

Leave a Reply

