Viewing Table Dependencies in Access for Linked Tables

I thought of a way to improve data security in my current project, but to implement it safely, I needed to review what linked tables were being used for what forms and reports.  It’s kind of a daunting task, and if anyone knows of a free tool that could provide this for me, I’d be greatly appreciative.  I’m working on some code, but it’s a slow path.

Under the Database Tools tab in later editions of Access is the Object Dependencies tool.  Unfortunately, if you click on a linked table, the button goes gray and is unavailable.  Fortunately, I found a workaround.

Click on a local table first, then open the tool.  So far, so good.  Now click on the table that you actually want to look at dependencies for, and click the Refresh link in the top right of the Object Dependencies pane that opened when you clicked on the tool’s button.

Easy peasy.

My thanks to Avon4026 on Access-Programmers.co.uk (a web site that I highly recommend) for pointing out this workaround.

Leave a Reply

